Blogging at Work

Don’t blog about your product. Give your readers content they’re not getting elsewhere and make them want to return.

Such is the advice (and I believe it to be good advice) of expert new media gurus about corporate blogging. But it’s incredibly hard to do.

Blogging about publishing in general is all over the web. As is blogging about new media, new technologies, the trend to “free,” etc. How on earth do I make my blog interesting and different enough so that people tune in on a regular basis.

For the time being I do blog about the books, because the blog page is more flexible than our web page and I can talk about them in more detail. I always look for opportunities to tie a book in with a breaking story, and it doesn’t happen very often.

This week I got lucky: a story in the news about breastfeeding, a new book on breastfeeding, and an author who understood that when I asked her for  a comment I didn’t mean next week when all her marking was done.

Because the blogging, facebooking, twittering, etc., is just one part of my job but seems to take up an inordinate amount of time, my goal is to do some planning. How many posts per week. What subjects interest me. Can I work some audio/video into the posts (a whole other time-sucking feature).

I’m envious of a colleague at another press who was doing such a good job they made her job all about online media. Bigger company, though, and it’s not going to happen to me.

So I plug away and hope that people are reading.

Leave a Reply

